Business Banking

Where the brightest minds make the biggest sparks
Apply today

A new generation’s passion to expand

It takes passion and foresight for a new generation of leaders to drive a family business forward. That’s how George Youssef, CEO of Egypt-based New Mena Plast, and his brother achieved success: through sourcing new technologies, recruiting fresh talent, and working with the right partners, taking the business into the new millennium.

New Mena Plast was founded in the 1970s by George’s father. By the 1990s, it was the largest manufacturer of PVC hoses for industrial use in Egypt. When George and his brother took over amid Egypt’s infrastructure sector boom in 2005, they realised that they needed to look beyond Egypt’s borders. “We are searching for new technologies, for new partners to try to deliver a value added to our market,” George explains.



Creating innovative products

This led them to team up with German pipe production technology firm Krah. Being first to market with a new technology is no easy task, but the brothers were undaunted. George points out that they have “the exclusivity of know-how in Egypt” with Krah. This bold step into uncharted territory has paid off, with unrivalled demand for their products. “From 2009 until now, our … pipes are the most-wanted product in the area.”

Sustainability is also a vital component of New Mena Plast’s business strategy. George underscores the importance of finding environmentally friendly materials and manufacturing methods. “We are always in search for new products and new materials that can have less impact on our environment,” he says.

 

The key to sustainability is finding a product with a long lifespan that can be recycled at the end of its usage period. “We use materials that have a 50-year lifespan, which can later on be reused, making them 100% recyclable.”

 

Developing new talents

To keep the company young and dynamic, George expresses a strong conviction in the ability of new employees. “For talent, we always believe in youth.” Most of his team are under 40 years old, he notes. “We acquire new talents and we give training.” This, he says, is how they inject passion into the business.

George points out that beyond products and technologies, the key to success is finding people who can contribute to the business. “We believe in … not just the product, not just the technology, but persons that can add value to our business.”

The search for the right partner

This philosophy extends beyond recruitment to other business areas. George describes his company’s relationship with HSBC as a partnership, outlining three reasons he sees the bank as more than just a supplier of banking services.

“HSBC is a partner, not a service provider, this is certainly the mindset of the HSBC team. They are partners in our business, our success is part of their success.”

The dedication of HSBC’s Relationship Managers, who understand their clients’ unique propositions, strengths, and weaknesses, is also key. “RMs in HSBC are always advocating our company, our success, and our future. They take their responsibility seriously.”

Citing reliability and transparency as critical factors in choosing a banking partner, George recognises that HSBC’s ability to deliver these is highly reassuring. “accuracy and transparency with every document secures our decisions and money.”

Looking to the future

For George, success is about waiting patiently for the right opportunity and seizing it when it comes. “My advice, it's always about timing. Be ready to take the opportunity when it comes, because letting it go is a big waste for the business.”

George’s passion for the future is clear in his hope that he will forge a path for those who come after him. “I wish my legacy to be that I paved the way to the next generation. Not only to transfer technology and do business, but also to be able to add a value to the technology and to introduce new technologies to business,” he says.

And it is perhaps this belief in technology and willingness to seek out and try new products that sums up his world view. “I think innovation inspires me a lot, because it adds space to our world, it adds new horizons to our business, it adds a lot of hope for the future.”

Read more useful stories and articles

Find out more about HSBC Business Banking

You are leaving the HSBC Commercial Banking website.

Please be aware that the external site policies will differ from our website terms and conditions and privacy policy. The next site will open in a new browser window or tab.

You are leaving the HSBC Commercial Banking website.

Please be aware that the external site policies will differ from our website terms and conditions and privacy policy. The next site will open in a new browser window or tab.

الخدمات المصرفية للشركات

حيث تبدع العقول بالابتكار
سجل اليوم

شغف الجيل الجديد للتوسع

يتطلب الأمر الكثير من الشغف والتبصر بالنسبة للجيل الجديد من القادة لضمان استمرارية أعمال شركة العائلة والمضي قدماً. هكذا تمكن جورج يوسف، الرئيس التنفيذي لشركة نيو مينا بلاست ومقرها مصر، وشقيقه من تحقيق النجاح: من خلال الحصول على تقنيات جديدة، وتوظيف مهارات جديدة، والعمل مع الشركاء المناسبين، والانتقال بالأعمال إلى الألفية الجديدة.

تأسست شركة نيو مينا بلاست في عام 1970م من قبل والد جورج. في فترة التسعينيات، وكانت أكبر شركة لتصنيع خراطيم PVC للاستخدام الصناعي في مصر. وعندما تولى جورج وشقيقه مهامهما في خضم ازدهار قطاع البنية التحتية في مصر في عام 2005، أدركا أنهما بحاجة للنظر إلى أبعد من حدود مصر. ويوضح جورج بالقول: "إننا نبحث عن تقنيات جديدة، وعن شركاء جدد لمحاولة تقديم قيمة مضافة لسوقنا."

استحداث منتجات مبتكرة

قادهم ذلك إلى التعاون مع شركة Krah الألمانية لتكنولوجيا إنتاج الأنابيب. وباعتبارها شركة جديدة تطرح منتجاتها التقنية الحديثة لأول مرة في السوق فإن ذلك لم يكن بالأمر السهل، لكن الإخوة كانوا على استعداد لذلك التحدي. ويشير جورج بالقول إلى أن لديهم "الخبرة والمعرفة الحصرية بتسويق هذه التقنية في مصر" إلى جانب شركة Krah. ولقد أتت هذه الخطوة الجريئة نحو المجهول ثمارها، حيث وصل الطلب على منتجاتها إلى مستويات غير مسبوقة. "منذ عام 2009 وحتى الآن، ... فإن الأنابيب المتوفرة لدينا هي المنتج الأكثر طلباً في المنطقة."

وتعتبر الاستدامة أيضاً عنصراً حيوياً في استراتيجية أعمال شركة نيو مينا بلاست. إذ يؤكد جورج على مدى أهمية إيجاد مواد وطرق تصنيع صديقة للبيئة. حيث يقول: "إننا نبحث دائماً عن منتجات ومواد جديدة يمكن أن يكون لها تأثير أقل على بيئتنا".

إن مفتاح الاستدامة هو العثور على منتج طويل الأمد يمكن إعادة تدويره في نهاية فترة استخدامه. "إننا نستخدم مواد ذات عمر افتراضي يصل إلى 50 عاماً، ويمكن إعادة استخدامها لاحقاً، مما يجعلها قابلة لإعادة التدوير بنسبة 100٪."

تطوير مهارات جديدة

من أجل المحافظة على بقاء الشركة حيوية وديناميكية، يعرب جورج عن اقتناعه القوي بقدرة الموظفين الجدد. "بالنسبة للمهارات، فإننا نؤمن دائماً بالشباب". يلاحظ أن معظم أفراد طاقم العمل لديه تقل أعمارهم عن 40 عاماً. "نكتسب مهارات جديدة ونوفر التدريب"، هذه هي الطريقة التي نقوم من خلالها بإدخال الشغف إلى الأعمال، حسبما يقول.

ويشير جورج إلى أنه بالإضافة إلى المنتجات والتقنيات، فإن مفتاح النجاح يتمثل في العثور على أشخاص قادرين على المساهمة في الأعمال. "نحن نؤمن ... ليس بالمنتج أو التكنولوجيا وحسب، بل في الأشخاص الذين يمكنهم إضافة القيمة إلى أعمالنا."

البحث عن الشريك المناسب

تمتد هذه الفلسفة إلى أبعد من التوظيف لتشمل مجالات الأعمال الأخرى. ويصف جورج علاقة شركته مع HSBC بأنها شراكة، حيث يذكر ثلاثة أسباب دفعته لأن يرى البنك أكثر من مجرد مزود للخدمات المصرفية.

"يعتبر HSBC شريكاً، وليس مجرد مزود للخدمات، وهذه هي بالتأكيد طريقة تفكير فريق HSBC. إنهم شركائنا في الأعمال، ونجاحنا جزء من نجاحهم".

كما أن تفاني مدراء علاقات HSBC، الذين يفهمون المقترحات الفريدة من جانب العملاء، ونقاط القوة والضعف، يعتبر عاملاً رئيسياً أيضاً. "دائماً ما يقوم مدراء العلاقات لدى HSBC بدعم شركتنا ونجاحنا ومستقبلنا. ويأخذون مسؤوليتهم على محمل الجد".

مستشهداً بالموثوقية والشفافية كعوامل حاسمة في اختيار الشريك المصرفي، يدرك جورج أن قدرة HSBC على تقديم هذه الخدمات مطمئنة للغاية. "الدقة والشفافية مع كل وثيقة تضمن قراراتنا وأموالنا."

التطلع إلى المستقبل

بالنسبة إلى جورج، فإن النجاح يدور حول انتظار الفرصة المناسبة بصبر واغتنامها عندما يحين الوقت. نصيحتي، يتعلق الأمر دائماً بالتوقيت. كن مستعداً لاغتنام الفرص عندما يحين الوقت، لأن فقدانها يمثل خسارة كبيرة للشركة".

يتمثل شغف جورج بالمستقبل بشكل واضح في أمله بصياغة طريق لمن سيأتي من بعده. "أتمنى أن يمهد إرثي الطريق للجيل القادم. يقول جورج: "ليس فقط لنقل التكنولوجيا والقيام بالأعمال، ولكن أيضاً لكي نكون قادرين على إضافة القيمة إلى التكنولوجيا وإدخال تقنيات جديدة إلى الأعمال".

ولعل هذا الإيمان بالتكنولوجيا والرغبة في البحث عن منتجات جديدة وتجربتها يلخص نظرته إلى العالم. "أعتقد أن الابتكار يلهمني كثيراً، لأنه يضيف مساحة إلى عالمنا، ويضيف آفاقاً جديدة لأعمالنا، ويضيف كثيراً من الأمل للمستقبل".

اعرفوا المزيد حول خدمات HSBC المصرفية للشركات

إنك تغادر موقع خدماتHSBC المصرفية التجارية.

يرجى الانتباه إلى أن سياسات الموقع الخارجي قد تختلف عن الشروط والأحكام وسياسة الخصوصية في موقعنا الإلكتروني. سيفتح الموقع التالي في نافذة أو علامة تبويب متصفح جديدة.

إنك تغادر موقع خدماتHSBC المصرفية التجارية.

يرجى الانتباه إلى أن سياسات الموقع الخارجي قد تختلف عن الشروط والأحكام وسياسة الخصوصية في موقعنا الإلكتروني. سيفتح الموقع التالي في نافذة أو علامة تبويب متصفح جديدة.