Business Banking

Where the brightest minds make the biggest sparks
Apply today

Transforming a family business through innovation

Surviving well beyond a single generation has been a major challenge for many family-owned companies in the Middle East and North Africa. In particular, there is often a clash between the “established” way of doing things and changing the business to match evolving market conditions

For Magdy Hosni, innovation and adaptability have played a key part in carrying forward the legacy of their family business. He is the chairman of the board and CEO of Alexandria Metal Forming Company (Alexform), a subsidiary of Alex Group, which is a multi-disciplinary conglomerate founded more than 60 years ago by his grandfather.

Magdy has been at the helm of Alexform for the past 20 years and is a third-generation owner of their family business, together with his brother Mamdouh. “We serve the metal construction sector, providing our clients with a complete service starting from trade, all the way to the manufacturing of semi-component products,” he says.



Innovation in machines and products

Magdy saw the potential in the Egyptian market, a country with a population of almost 100 million and undergoing an economic revival that has fuelled significant infrastructure spending.

“We have a vision, and we see where things are going,” he says, adding that sustainability is an important component of their business. “We develop eco-friendly products, such as our isolated panel, which helps a structure save energy and limit electricity consumption.”

As part of this initiative, Alexform follows ISO management system standards (MSS). It has also received the internationally recognised LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) green building certification, which is a symbol of sustainability achievement. Through innovation, the company was able to help their customers save on building costs and realise their own sustainability targets.

“That's how we become innovators and transfer the technology in the form of machinery – the latest in our field,” he says. “Being able to predict the needs of the market, develop products, and transfer global know-how to the local manufacturing processes have given us a competitive edge.”

Human development is imperative

Magdy adds that their vision for the family business goes beyond just the bottom line. In particular, they see value in investing in human development. “The company’s nerve centre is its manpower – the second and third line of leaders. It is important for us to invest in human development in the form of continuous education and training courses.

“We also include them in the entire decision-making process. We always keep them updated about the latest technologies and trends in their specific fields, whether they are engineers, finance department employees, or technicians,” he says.

Nurturing individual talents is essential, especially in the family, says Magdy, as Alexform looks ahead to welcoming the next generation of leaders.

Choosing the right banking partner

Sustaining a decades-old family business also requires a robust bank partner, according to Magdy. This influenced his decision to turn to HSBC.

“I always find that HSBC has a unique way of thinking, when it comes to bank-client relationship. They’re different and ahead of their time when it comes to helping their clients achieve their business goals. They truly consider their clients as partners and the service they provide reflects success and comfort,” the Alexform CEO says.

“The bank’s culture is deeply embedded in the team; they deliver a seamless banking service. The introduction of the digital banking component made everything smooth and easier for us. We haven’t encountered any difficulties. Dealing and working with HSBC has been an enjoyable experience.”

Building a legacy

Magdy is grateful for the vision and effort his grandfather and father have put into the family business. He has taken on the mantle of preserving the company legacy, transforming the business, and ensuring that it is passed on to future generations. With its commitment to innovation, a strong partnership with a reliable bank, and expertise honed through years of industry experience, Alexform is poised to grow in a new era.

Read more useful stories and articles

Find out more about HSBC Business Banking

You are leaving the HSBC Commercial Banking website.

Please be aware that the external site policies will differ from our website terms and conditions and privacy policy. The next site will open in a new browser window or tab.

You are leaving the HSBC Commercial Banking website.

Please be aware that the external site policies will differ from our website terms and conditions and privacy policy. The next site will open in a new browser window or tab.

الخدمات المصرفية للشركات

حيث تبدع العقول بالابتكار
سجل اليوم

تحويل شركات الأعمال العائلية من خلال الابتكار

يعتبر ضمان استدامة أعمال الشركة واستمرارها بعد انتقالها من جيل إلى جيل آخر تحدياً كبيراً بالنسبة إلى العديد من شركات الأعمال العائلية في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا. فغالباً ما تتعرض مثل هذه الشركات إلى الزوال بسبب عدم قدرتها على التجاوب والتأقلم مع الظروف المتغيرة للسوق.

وبالنسبة إلى مجدي حسني، فإن الابتكار والقدرة على التكيف قد لعبا دوراً رئيسياً في ضمان استمرارية شركة الأعمال العائلية للمضي قدماً. ويتولى مجدي حسني منصب رئيس مجلس الإدارة والرئيس التنفيذي لشركة الإسكندرية لتشكيل المعادن (أليكس فورم) التابعة لمجموعة أليكس، وهي مجموعة متعددة التخصصات تم تأسيسها من قبل جده منذ أكثر من 60 عاماً.

تولى مجدي رئاسة شركة أليكس فورم على مدار العشرين عاماً الماضية وهو المالك من الجيل الثالث لشركاتهم العائلية مع شقيقه ممدوح. ويقول السيد مجدي: "إننا نوفر خدماتنا إلى قطاع الإنشاءات المعدنية، ونقدم لعملائنا خدمة متكاملة بدءاً من التجارة، وصولاً إلى تصنيع المنتجات شبه المكونة."

الابتكار في الآلات والمنتجات

رأى مجدي الإمكانيات في السوق المصري، وهي دولة يبلغ عدد سكانها ما يقرب من 100 مليون نسمة وتخضع لبرامج إنعاش اقتصادي أدت إلى زيادة الإنفاق على البنية التحتية.

ويقول السيد مجدي: "لدينا رؤية، ونراقب إلى أين تسير الأمور"، مضيفاً أن الاستدامة تعتبر عنصراً مهماً في أعمالهم. "فنحن نطور منتجات صديقة للبيئة، مثل لوحات العزل الحراري، والتي تساعد الأبنية على توفير الطاقة والحد من استهلاك الكهرباء."

وكجزء من هذه المبادرة، تتبع شركة أليكس فورم معايير نظام الآيزو في الإدارة (MSS). كما أنها حاصلة على شهادة LEED (الريادة في تصميم الطاقة والبيئة) المعترف بها دولياً، والتي تعد رمزاً لتحقيق الاستدامة. ومن خلال الابتكار، تمكنت الشركة من مساعدة عملائها على توفير تكاليف البناء وتحقيق أهداف الاستدامة الخاصة بهم.

ويقول السيد مجدي: "هكذا أصبحنا مبتكرين وننقل التكنولوجيا على شكل آلات - الأحدث في مجال أعمالنا". وأصبح قادرين على التنبؤ باحتياجات السوق، وتطوير المنتجات، ونقل المعرفة العالمية إلى عمليات التصنيع المحلية مما منحنا ميزة تنافسية."

التنمية البشرية أمر في غاية الضرورة

ويضيف مجدي أن رؤيتهم لشركة الأعمال العائلية تتجاوز مفهوم الحد الأدنى. وعلى وجه الخصوص، فهم يعتبرون أن القيمة تتمثل في الاستثمار في تطوير الموارد البشرية. "يكمن المصدر الرئيسي لقوة الشركة في مواردها البشرية - الخط الثاني والثالث من القادة. ومن المهم بالنسبة لنا أن نستثمر في تطوير الموارد البشرية من خلال الدورات التعليمية والتدريبية المستمرة.

كما نقوم بإشراك مواردنا البشرية في عملية صنع القرار بأكملها. حيث أننا نبقيهم على اطلاع دائم ومستمر بأحدث التقنيات والتوجهات في مجالاتهم المحددة، سواءً كانوا مهندسين أو موظفين في قسم الشؤون المالية أو فنيين."

ويقول مجدي أن رعاية المهارات الفردية يعتبر أمراً أساسياً، خاصة ضمن العائلة، حيث تتطلع شركة أليكس فورم للترحيب بالجيل القادم من القادة.

اختيار الشريك المصرفي المناسب

عن المحافظة على استدامة مجهودات الشركة العائلية لعقود من الزمن يتطلب وجود شريك مصرفي قوي، حسبما قاله مجدي. ولذلك قرر التحول إلى التعامل مع بنك HSBC.

ويقول الرئيس التنفيذي لشركة أليكس فورم: "دائماً ما أجد أن لدى HSBC طريقة فريدة في التفكير، عندما يتعلق الأمر بالعلاقة ما بين البنك والعميل. إنهم مختلفون وسابقون لوقتهم عندما يتعلق الأمر بمساعدة عملائهم على تحقيق أهداف أعمالهم. فهم يعتبرون عملائهم شركاء فعليين وأن الخدمة التي يقدمونها تعكس النجاح والراحة".

"وحيث أن ثقافة البنك متأصلة بعمق في الفريق، فهم يوفرون خدمات مصرفية سلسة ومتميزة. ولقد ساهم اعتمادنا لمنصة الخدمات المصرفية الرقمية في جعل كل شيء سلس وأسهل بالنسبة لنا. لم نواجه أي صعوبات. ولقد كان التعامل والعمل مع HSBC تجربة ممتعة."

بناء الإرث

يعرب مجدي عن امتنانه لرؤية جده ووالده وجهودهما المبذولة في تأسيس شركة العائلة. فلقد أخذ على عاتقه مسؤولية الحفاظ على تراث الشركة، وتحويل الأعمال وتطويرها، والتأكد من انتقالها إلى الأجيال القادمة. ومن خلال التزامها بالابتكار، والشراكة القوية مع بنك موثوق، والمعرفة الواسعة التي اكتسبتها عبر سنوات من الخبرة في مجال الأعمال، تستعد شركة أليكس فورم للنمو في عصر جديد.

اعرفوا المزيد حول خدمات HSBC المصرفية للشركات

إنك تغادر موقع خدماتHSBC المصرفية التجارية.

يرجى الانتباه إلى أن سياسات الموقع الخارجي قد تختلف عن الشروط والأحكام وسياسة الخصوصية في موقعنا الإلكتروني. سيفتح الموقع التالي في نافذة أو علامة تبويب متصفح جديدة.

إنك تغادر موقع خدماتHSBC المصرفية التجارية.

يرجى الانتباه إلى أن سياسات الموقع الخارجي قد تختلف عن الشروط والأحكام وسياسة الخصوصية في موقعنا الإلكتروني. سيفتح الموقع التالي في نافذة أو علامة تبويب متصفح جديدة.